Noter

Articles and thoughts by Peter Holslin

Looking for a Part Time Job

with one comment

I’m beginning to feel that all of the jobs posted on backpage.com and craigslist.org are fakes. Today marks at least the third day I’ve seen a posting for a mysterious “Part Time Job.” There’s no indication of what the job actually is, or whether company that’s hiring actually exists. No, it’s just a listing for a part time job–a generic ad for a fake job amid countless unyielding postings in a virtually jobless job market.

As I continue sinking into new depths of hopelessness, I steel myself with a certain defiance and a growing desperation. It helps that some postings are certifiably real. I’m in the middle of an interview for a curious telemarketing job right now.

And yesterday, I sent a job application to a chiropractor’s office in La Jolla. The title of the posting was curious: “Wanted: Happy Person.” I’ll do my best to keep up my spirits for the group interview tomorrow.

Written by Peter Holslin

December 1, 2009 at 10:56 am

Posted in Job hunt scams

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My friend actually worked at that chiropractor’s office a couple years ago after responding to that same ad. She is an excessively happy person so I think it worked out.

    Will Parson

    December 20, 2009 at 1:55 pm


Leave a Reply

